Coming Soon: ‘These Shining Lives’

These Shining Lives
chronicles the strength and determination of women considered expendable in their day, exploring their true story and its continued resonance. Catherine and her friends are dying, it’s true; but theirs is a story of survival in its most transcendent sense, as they refuse to allow the company that stole their health to kill their spirits—or endanger the lives of those who come after them.

Performances will be held Friday & Saturday, November 17 & 18 at 7:00 PM in the Smithville Elementary Cafetorium. Tickets are $5 and should be purchased in advance at:

Awards Night 2023 Honorees & Winners

This year’s SHS Theatre Awards Night was held on Friday, May 12. Here are our honorees & winners from the event:

Drama Club New Inductees

Amelia Blaeuer     Lacy Copeland     Leah Fleming     Payton Galipp     Avigail Hughes

Aaron Izzi     Red Muñiz     Callie Ruyle     Zechariah Schroeder

Drama Club Honor Stars

First Star:

Amelia Blaeuer          Red Muñiz          Zechariah Schroeder          Callie Ruyle

Third Star:

Kat Curry          Victor Gaona          Talon Hensley          Donley Romo          Ayla Witt

Fourth Star:

Connor Burns

Varsity Honors

Connor Burns          Kat Curry          Callie Ruyle

2022 – 2023 Drama Club Officers

Treasurer – Kat Curry           Secretary – Payton Galipp

Vice President – Ayla Witt          President – Talon Hensley

Thespian of the Year

Victor Gaona

Director’s Awards

Most Promising Newcomer – Callie Ruyle

Most Improved – Payton Galipp

Leadership Award – Connor Burns

Spotlight Award – Ayla Witt

Theatre Productions Awards

Most Spirit – Callie Ruyle

Backstage Award – Zechariah Schroeder, Assistant Stage Manager, Cinderella Waltz

Best Understudy – Amelia Blaeuer, Rosey Snow, Cinderella Waltz

Best Performer in a Minor Role – Payton Galipp, Penelope & Calliope, Chemical Imbalance

Best Actor in a Supporting Role – Talon Hensley, Xavier Utterson, Chemical Imbalance

Best Actress in a Supporting Role – Callie Ruyle, Mother Magee, Cinderella Waltz

Best Actor in a Lead Role – Victor Gaona, Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde, Chemical Imbalance

Best Actress in a Lead Role – Kat Curry, Rosey Snow, Chemical Imbalance

Legacy Award

Talon Hensley

Graduating Seniors

Hagen Brown          Victor Gaona          Talon Hensley

Congratulations to all of our honorees & winners!

Awards Night 2023

We’re excited to be celebrating another successful year of Tiger Theatre! Friends and family are welcome to join us as we induct new Drama Club members, reveal next year’s Drama Club officers, recognize Theatre Varsity recipients, hand out acting & tech awards, and show gratitude to our graduating Seniors for all of their amazing contributions to the troupe. Awards Night will be held at 7:00 pm on Friday, May 12, 2023 in the Smithville Elementary Cafetorium (800 Bishop St).

UIL District Contest Results 2023

Congratulations to the SHS OAP team on their performance at District Contest! Individual awards were brought home by students, including: Honorable Mention All Star Cast for Callie Ruyle as Mother Magee and Connor Burns as Troll, All Star Cast for Kat Curry as Rosey Snow, and Outstanding Technician for Ayla Witt, who ran our lights for the show.

We can’t wait to see all of our family and friends at this weekend’s public performances! Make sure to get your tickets today at: