Due to current health concerns, our planned Friday and Saturday night performances of The Great Gatsby have been postponed. Smithville ISD will continue to follow the recommendations of the Bastrop County Office of Emergency Management, the Texas Department of State Health Services, the Texas Education Agency, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention regarding Coronavirus (COVID-19). As more information is made available to the staff of Smithville ISD, we will reschedule these performances for a later date.

UIL One Act Play 2020 Results

Posted on March 10, 2020

We are proud to announce the following honors awarded to the cast and crew of The Great Gatsby at District competition:

Jahdo Rodriguez & Alexandra Watson received All Star Cast awards for their roles as George & Myrtle Wilson. Shelby Bosserman & James Brown received Honorable Mention All Star Cast awards for their roles as Daisy Buchanan & Nick Carraway. Alexis Rowell, one of our stage managers, received an All Star Crew award. The entire team put on an excellent show at competition and were awarded as the Alternate Advancing Show for District 26-4A.

Congratulations to the entire cast and crew on an incredible UIL OAP season! The Great Gatsby will be presented to the public at the SES Cafetorium on March 12, 13, and 14 at 7:00 PM. Tickets are $3 for students and $5 for adults.

Coming Soon: ‘The Great Gatsby’

Posted on February 23, 2020

Jay Gatsby, a self-made millionaire, passionately pursues the elusive Daisy Buchanan. Nick Carraway, a young newcomer to Long Island, is drawn into their world of obsession, greed and danger. The breathtaking glamour and decadent excess of the Jazz Age come to the stage in F. Scott Fitzgerald’s classic novel, and in Simon Levy’s adaptation, approved by the Fitzgerald Estate.

Performances of The Great Gatsby will be held on March 12, 13, & 14 at 7:00 pm in the Smithville Elementary Cafetorium. Tickets are $3 for students & $5 for adults.

Lone Star Theatre Festival 2020

Posted on February 17, 2020

On Wednesday, February 12, the cast and crew of this year’s UIL One Act Play, The Great Gatsby, participated in the Lone Star Theatre Festival at Wimberley High School, where four cast members brought home acting awards. Honorable Mention All-Star Cast trophies were awarded to Shelby Bosserman and Jahdo Rodriguez, who play Daisy Buchanan and George Wilson. All-Star Cast trophies were awarded to Amanda Vinklarek and Alexandra Watson, who play Jordan Baker and Myrtle Wilson.

L to R – Shelby Bosserman, Alexandra Watson, Jahdo Rodriguez, & Amanda Vinklarek

The cast and crew will take the stage for UIL District Contest on Friday, March 6, at the La Grange High School Performing Arts Center. Performances begin at 11:00 am, with Smithville performing second. Tickets can be purchased at the door.

The Great Gatsby Cast & Crew List

Posted on December 7, 2019

Congratulations to the cast and crew of The Great Gatsby! There was an impressive turnout at auditions with lots of wonderful moments from prospective actors. We’re all looking forward to what is sure to be a very successful UIL OAP contest piece.



UIL OAP 2020 Audition Announcement

Posted on December 1, 2019

We’re celebrating the roaring 20s with this year’s UIL One Act Play competition piece, The Great Gatsby. Join us as we bring the breathtaking glamour and decadent excess of the Jazz Age to the stage in Simon Levy’s adaptation of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s classic novel.

Major, minor, and non-speaking roles onstage, as well as several backstage positions, are available. Students interested in auditioning can view the audition packet in the Documents tab (above). Audition packets and scripts will be available in Mr. Hensley’s classroom starting tomorrow.

Coming Soon: ‘The Curious Savage’

Posted on October 31, 2019

Mrs. Savage has been left ten million dollars by her deceased husband and wants to make the best use of it. To prevent her from doing away with their family’s wealth and ruining their legacy, the Savage children have her committed to a sanatorium called The Cloisters, where she starts a new life among a group of misfits who cannot adjust themselves to regular society.  The self-seeking stepchildren are driven to distraction by their vain efforts to find the money hidden by Mrs. Savage, who keeps her composure while leading them on a merry chase. Through the simple belief in the justice of her cause, the residents of the Cloisters rally to help Mrs. Savage carry out her plans to establish a “Happiness Fund”, which would assist others in pursuing their “foolish dreams”.  The Curious Savage is a warm comedy that will leave you questioning who the sane ones really are. Performances of The Curious Savage will be held on November 21, 22, & 23 at 7:00 pm in the Smithville Elementary Cafetorium. Tickets are $3 for students & $5 for adults.